Home-picked seasonal apple and blackberry slices recipe

OMG how wholesome have I been? I could have been getting drunk last night but instead I got 10 hours sleep and then picked some apples and blackberries. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.

There are about 100 apples growing on the tree in the garden at the moment – SHOW OFF!

IMG_1763.JPG

I am trying to buy more locally sourced, seasonal products, because I’m becoming increasingly aware of my impact on the world and even though I thought I was being good for the environment, often I’m actually making all the wrong decisions. I’m actively now trying to recycle, reuse plastic bags, eat seasonal and organic products and where possible from somewhere local (although that’s quite hard in London). I’m cutting back any bottled water I’m buying and I’m currently trying to find a good reusable cup that I can use in the coffee shops instead of using coffee cups (many of these aren’t recyclable).

FullSizeRender 2.jpgThese are delicious slices of goodness. They don’t look the best, but they’re so easy to rustle up with seasonal fruit and cupboard staples that you can’t really go wrong this time of year.

FullSizeRender.jpg

What you need for this recipe:

  • One apple cut into cubes
  • 150g blackberries
  • 100g butter
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 170g flour (self raising)
  • 2 medium eggs
  • Peel of one lemon
  • 170g caster sugar

Mix up all the ingredients apart from the apples and blackberries in a mixing bowl using a spoon. Once combined, add the apple and blackberries and bake at 180 degrees centigrade for about 25-30 minutes until golden and cooked through. You can test whether it’s cooked through by sticking a small kebab stick into it and if it comes out gooey it needs more time.

The blackberries go gooey and delicious like jam and the apples are sweet and soft.

 

Leave a Reply

